Going Granola: Part 1

Having been inspired by a good friend of mine, even though I know most of my friends are going to flame me for it, I’ve decided to embark on a quest that at the end of I’ve become full-blown granola.

For those who don’t know what “granola” is, Urban Dictionary defines it as:

Granola:
An adjective used to describe people who are environmentally aware (flower child, tree-hugger), open-minded, left-winged, socially aware and active, queer or queer-positive, anti-oppressive/discriminatory (racial, sexual, gender, class, age, etc.) with an organic and natural emphasis on living, who will usually refrain from consuming or using anything containing animals and animal by-products (for health and/or environmental reasons), as well as limit consumption of what he or she does consume, as granola people are usually concerned about wasting resources. Usually buy only fair-trade goods and refrain from buying from large corporations, as most exploit the environment as well as their workers, which goes against granola core values. The choice of not removing body hair (see amazon) and drug use are not characteristics that define granola people, and people, regardless of granola status, may or may not partake in said activities. This definition is sometimes confused with hippy.

And used in conversation:
Jack: My best friend is vegan and only buys produce that is organically grown from local farmers. Her and her feminist, vegan boyfriend are both in Greenpeace and advocate for queer rights. She waxes her legs but she’s still granola.
Jill: So that means she’s not a dyke? And she grows her own reefer?
Jack: Just because she’s granola, doesn’t mean she does drugs. Also, granola status has nothing to do with sexual preference.
Jill: Well maybe she’ll know where to buy hemp and how to tie-dye?
Jack: She’s granola, not a hippy. Some granola people are hippy and vice-versa, but they’re not the same thing.

OK. Now that everybody is on the same page, let’s get down to business.

I’ve decided to go granola for a few reasons, but I’m going to only focus on one today: Feeling healthier in my own body.

The biggest proponent of my former less healthy lifestyle was the massive amount of fast food I would consume on a weekly basis, which, if I added up, probably accounted for 25 to 40 percent of my weekly calorie intake.

And my body didn’t feel good about.

And now, four months in, even though I let the occasional Taco Bell item slip through and was so intrigued by KFC’s Double Down that I had to try it, my body is much happier, my skin is better and I’ve gone down three notches on my belt.

#ftw.

In place of the fast food, I’ve stocked my refrigerator, cabinets and freezer with homemade soups, anything and everything organic or locally grown, and I’m now purchasing all of my fresh produce at the Ypsilanti Food Co-op and Whole Foods.

Sure, you may be thinking that only hippies shop at co-ops and Whole Foods and avoid them for that reason, but let me, someone who is not a hippie, be the first to tell you: You’re wrong. I shop at co-ops and Whole Foods because they provide the highest quality, freshest items you can get in my neck of the woods – and the best part is most prepared foods contain only a handful of different ingredients, and I can pronounce most of them. If Meijer or Kroger’s produce was as good as the co-ops or Whole Foods, I’d shop there too – but it isn’t, so I don’t.

I’d love to continue explaining why I’ve extensively improved my eating habits and why you should too, but, seeing how this is a blog and most of you are starting to lose interest at this point, I’ll leave you with this awesome, full-color chart that is guaranteed to re-grab your attention and let you decide for yourself.

Everything You Need to Know About Fast Food
Via: Online Schools


Stromski

Post Script: Come back soon for “Going Granola: Part 2.” I’s going to be about corn or the chemicals we put in and/or on our body. Please take a second to post your thoughts in the comment section.

~ by mfstromski on May 6, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

