Going Granola: Part 2 – Tofu Thursday

Inspired by Meatless Monday, I’ve decided to take it one step further by introducing Tofu Thursday – you should too.

Yes, I know most of you probably think tofu is disgusting, heck, I used to think it was to most disgusting thing in the world – and then I discovered what you can do with it, which, if you don’t know already, is pretty much everything: You can put it in salads or make it into a burger, there’s tacos, tofu tempura – I’m just going to stop there because the list could go on forever. The best part about tofu, in my opinion, is that you can make it taste and look almost anything you want (I recently saw an episode of Future Food where tofu was made to look like sea food – it was intense).

Week one of Tofu Thursday introduced me to tempura tofu nuggets. When everything was said and done, they looked similar to this:

As for their taste, they tasted exactly like you would expect: tofu coated in tempura batter and fried. To be honest, I wasn’t too thrilled about it, and I’ve decided to modify the original recipe to something a little more flavorful.

It goes like this:

1. Marinade the tofu in teriyaki or sweet and sour sauce for about eight hours in the refrigerator.
2. Freeze the tofu for about 24 hours.
3. Follow the original recipe, but be sure to keep the tofu as cold as possible right up to the moment you toss it in your oil.

I found my first experience working with tofu a pleasurable one, and I am already scouring the Internet for a great recipe for the next installment of Tofu Thursday. If you have any suggestions for a good one, please post it in the comments section.

~ by mfstromski on May 28, 2010.

One Response to “Going Granola: Part 2 – Tofu Thursday”

  1. Thanks for the tips! I never thought about the temperature of the tofu, so I’ll have to do that next time…

    Good luck with your next tofu thursday!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

